Plinius

Sunday, April 1, 2007

PL 14/07: Statistical returns

Filed under: statistics — plinius @ 10:34 am

My last time with IFLA was in Oslo in 2005. Before that, Berlin in 2003 and Beijing in 1995.

Now I am aiming at five consecutive meetings: Durban this summer – and then Quebec in 2008 and Milan in 2009. In 2010, one of the following countries will be selected: Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand.

Why this burst of activity? Because I have joined the Statistics and Evaluation Section. Why statistics? Because I was a statistician and sociologist for many years before I turned library teacher and researcher in 1992.

For the last four years Norway has been represented by my colleague Erlend Ra at the Norwegian Archive, Library and Museum Authority. The Authority wanted to nominate me for the next period – and I accepted without hesitation.

This year I turned sixtyfive. Retirement from Oslo University College lies only a few years into the future. Trying to develop statistics as an effective tool for librarians seems a good way to round off a long working life.

Resources

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

